Cutting off the Cuff

So sad.

I had the first cottage sock finished Sunday, but didn’t get a chance to try it on until last night. Since my son’s cottage socks were already sliding down his legs (I had to stitch some elastic thread into the cuffs over the vacation to help them stay up), I decided that I needed to make the cuffs a little tighter for mine as I hate socks that bunch around one’s ankles. So I decreased 4 stitches around the top before doing the 3 inch ribbing. “It’s only 1 1/4 inch smaller and this yarn stretches” I said to myself.

I pulled it on yesterday … Oh. My. Goodness! The circulation to my toes was immediately cut off as soon as I pulled, with difficulty, the socks up to my knee.

So, as all knitters do, I sighed, got out my scissors, and cut off the cuff and attached the remaining ball of yarn to the top of the sock in preparation to make the regular sized cuff. BTW, I used the braided Russian join again, a little looser than last time – I love this join! No ends to weave in! Just ends to clip off.

I also started knitting a hat for a little girl in my church congregation who is losing her hair because of chemo. I’m making her an anemone hat by Cat Bordhi. I’m adjusting the pattern to add ear flaps with braided hanging “ties” because she likes those kinds of hats. I’ll let you all know if it works.

Pictures to follow.

This entry was posted in Design, Knitting, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment