Rhinebeck – My First Experience

Some members of my knitting group had gone to “The NY Sheep and Wool Festival” last year without me because I didn’t ask for the time off fast enough. They had a nice time, so this year, I asked for the day off way ahead of time. I thought it would be a nice day, wandering around in some yarn vendors, watching people sheer sheep and maybe learn how to use a drop spindle. That’d be nice.

Then, last Friday, I was telling a coworker that I was going to the S&W Festival in NY, and he said “Oh. I had a customer just now who said she was getting ready to go to Rhinebeck too.”

It clicked. Rhinebeck!?!?!?!?!!!!! I’ve read knitting blogs for the past year and Rhinebeck is considered THE knitters Mecca event. Everyone I read goes to Rhinebeck (or wants to!). Holy Cow! I was going to Rhinebeck!!! (maybe I’d actually see some of the people I’ve follow!!) Dang! I wish I had signed up for some workshops.

I went with one of my knitter group friends. We drove for two hours through beautiful upstate NY with its fall foliage. Lovely drive. So excited.

Then we waited in line for parking for what felt like a hour (more like 20 minutes) and we were there.

Wow. All I can say is “Wow!”

So many buildings full of so many booths full of yarn being looked at, fondled, and purchased by so many people!

Rhinebeck 01

Rhinebeck 02

I couldn’t help getting a picture of these shawls – so beautiful.

Rhinebeck 03

We wandered for hours, going into every little booth, touching everything we could get to – sock yarns, fingering, merino wools, silk blends, roving. ( I even found a booth that was selling blocking wires! I wasn’t planning on buying anything, but I had to pick those up to block the baby blanket that is sitting downstairs, waiting to be blocked and mailed to my soon-to-be grandbaby.)

Then there were the animals. I loved this ram. He was just standing in his stall, checking out the people as we walked by.

Rhinebeck 04

We watched the lamb judging. I loved to see the kids there with their sheep, showing them for the judge. I learned a lot about how a sheep is judged, though they all looked fantastic to me (good thing I’m not a judge – everyone would get blue ribbons!!)

Rhinebeck 05

Then there was the llama parade. Check out the one that had what I call a “poodle cut” – gorgeous!

Rhinebeck llama parare

Rhinebeck llama poodle cut

And sheep shearing! The man had an electric clipper and the little Icelandic sheep went from this:

Rhinebeck sheep shearing 1to this:

Rhinebeck sheep shearing 2in about 5 minutes. He figured it was about 4 1/2 pounds of wool. Six months growth.

All in all, I had a good time at Rhinebeck. And I am already making plans to go back next year.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment